Modi takes oath as India PM for the 3rd straight time, 72 ministers join

NARENDRA MODI on Sunday (9) took oath as the prime minister of India for the third successive time, equalling the record of the country’s first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru who had done the same in 1962 after completing two terms.

Along with Modi, 72 ministers of the new National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government also took oath. Thirty of them are of cabinet rank while 36 are ministers of state. Five ministers were with independent charge. The portfolios will be announced later.